southern charm with biscuits and gravy

I am trying some gravy this morn as I write to you. I have been testing motel or restaurant breakfast versions and think I will have to continue my quest for perfection. Some gravies are runny…some are so salty and full of mystery sausage that the tongue burns….and some coagulate into lumps of white beige as soon as the liguid hits the biscuit. My fave so far has been a smooth and not too salty, sage fragrant concoction served over small and flaky biscuits. Biscuits and gravy are as diverse and interesting as the people who make them. I think moving beyond restaurant versions should be my next step..

Leaving fast and gritty NYC’s culture of “whaddya want?” and traveling a few steps through Rhode Island and into Virginia “hello ..how can I help you today?” was a tad disorienting. Southern hospitality is alive and well, I am happy to report. There is a lovely and slower music to the way people speak. Oh my..and the barbecue, cole slaw, pulled pork and steamed shrimp are amazing and wonderful to encounter. This kind of food tightens the jeans.

The Smokey Mountains are soothing to glide through…fragrant, green rolling mountains and valleys…with a dollop of fiddle music.

I still have so much to report to you. I have the story of the man in Michigan who did his homework…the people in Missoula who care deeply about the world and its children…Chewonki School in Maine..City and Country School in NYC..Tinmouth…the people young and old I have met and talked to about school…and their hopes and dreams for the future….Detroit…the Highlander Center…

Right now I will pour another cuppa joe before I go. Today we are heading out of Knoxville and down further south through Birmingham, Selma and Montgomery and then trickling into New Orleans. There are reports of tropical storms heading up through the Gulf so we may get wet-but the car could use a bit of a hosing off…and I am anxious to meet up with a young person there to talk to with about school…the future..and maybe biscuits and gravy…

In the meantime, please share your thoughts either by posting on this blog or contacting me privately. I am eager to hear from you…and any responses to one or all of the questions here:

the questions
Posted on September 1, 2013 by cthebean
Why is there school….what is the purpose of school?
What do you like most (or did you like most) about school?
What is (or was) hard about school?
What are (or were) you good at in school?
What important things have you learned about or how to do in school?
What do you (or did you) want to learn about in school?
What would you change about school ?
Do you (or did you) like school?
What do you imagine might be better for people than school?
Do you think other people would agree with your ideas?

–Please share your thoughts-comments are looked forward to..

About cthebean

Educator, musician, social justice activist...and now a blogger. Children deserve unflinching support from adults.....they deserve nothing less. All kids . Everybody's kids. Everywhere.
Aside | This entry was posted in letters home and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts-comments are welcome

