Farewell to Teaching

Thinkers like this are a gift. I am not sad that she will be doing other important things …. but I am sad as to why she has come to the decision to leave teaching.
Someone commented that there is an explosion coming and that teachers like this need to be present for the young when and if that happens. I agree. I also hope we can all be present for each other so we don’t lose our way..our sense of place.

Voices from the Margins

Carol A. Hand

This post is a farewell to a vocation I have loved – teaching. I awoke this morning with a clear answer to a question I have been pondering for several weeks, “Should I resign from teaching, perhaps this time with no intention of ever returning?”

Yes, it’s time. Although I love working with students, the context of teaching at the post high school level has increasingly provided too little space for liberatory praxis.

7822_1247630437021_8126801_n

Photo Credit: Graduate Celebration – 2009

It’s the structure of education, not the students, that has been the determining factor for my decision. During my brief time as an adjunct for a private college, I have witnessed the transformation of a program originally based on emphasizing critical thinking and experiential learning based on social justice to a “feeder” program preparing students for a clinical master’s degree. The transition didn’t occur over night, but…

View original post 534 more words

About cthebean

Educator, musician, social justice activist...and now a blogger. Children deserve unflinching support from adults.....they deserve nothing less. All kids . Everybody's kids. Everywhere.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Farewell to Teaching

  1. carolahand says:

    Thank you for sharing this, Christine, and for your kind words.

    Like

Please share your thoughts-comments are welcome

