I was spanked and I’m fine…

If we justify violence against children as a way to take care of them then we are not fine….and possibly trying very hard to deny the fear and anger we felt toward our parents when we were spanked….trying to make it okay. It wasn’t okay then and it isn’t okay now.

My mother had a special spanking spatula. It was mostly used on mornings when we would not or could not leave the sweetness of our warm beds and come down to the kitchen for breakfast, and it was used mostly on my older brother. But I saw.

I think the spatula was appropriated the first time, in a moment of sheer desperation… A single parent who had worked a full time job all week was dredging energy for the weekend from the depths of her body to make a solid morning meal for her kids….and they didn’t want to get out of bed!

I remember her moving toward me that morning, as I ran and begged her not to hit me with it..the bacon grease making it glisten and flash dreadfully as she neared me. I remember the fear. I remember the feeling of betrayal and crying no mommy no..and…

View original post 388 more words

About cthebean

Educator, musician, social justice activist...and now a blogger. Children deserve unflinching support from adults.....they deserve nothing less. All kids . Everybody's kids. Everywhere.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts-comments are welcome

